Halal Food on Campus

The University is a multicultural community, with a diverse body of students, staff and visitors who have differing religious and non-religious beliefs and ethics. We are committed to ensuring that services provided meet the needs of this diverse community.

Food at UCL does not operate any exclusively Halal kitchens. Our kitchens also produce dishes which are Haram. For this reason none of our kitchens are certified by the Halal Authority and we cannot use the official Halal symbol. However we do strive to source Halal certified or "Halal-sourced" meat for specific services and menu items in line with our recognition of the diverse needs of our customers.

Currently supplier disruptions are affecting our supply of halal chicken. Please ask the counter assistants for the halal status of dishes in our refectories.

Code of Practice for the production and services of Halal-sourced dishes
  • Any Halal meat supplied by our butcher will be Halal certified.
  • Halal meat is covered, labelled and segregated (within the same refrigerator/freezer) from other, Haram products.
  • Staff wash their hands before the preparation of Halal products.
  • Where appropriate, staff wear new disposable gloves before the preparation of Halal products.
  • Halal dishes do not contain:
    • alcohol
    • pork or pork derivatives (e.g. bacon, ham, sausage or gelatine from animal origin)
    • lard.
  • All oils and fats used in the preparation and cooking of Halal dishes are of vegetable origin.
  • Cheese used as part of the dish is vegetarian (i.e. does not contain rennet from animal origin).
  • All production and service staff are trained in these codes of practice.